Henry: Born in Thy House

“Thou art he that took me out of my mother’s bowels into the arms of thy grace, under the shadow of thy wings, into the bond of thy covenant; thou tookest me into thy church, as a son of thy handmaid, and born in thy house. And therefore I have reason to hope that thou wilt protect me; thou that hast held me up hitherto will not let me fall now; thou that madest me wilt not forsake the work of thy own hands; thou that helpedst me when I could not help myself wilt not abandon me now that I am as helpless as I was then.”

– Matthew Henry, commentary on Psalm 71

Leave a Reply

